“Education for Life”
The information in this section, is meant to help you understand scouting and how your son and your family can “grow” with scouting. Boys are encouraged to participate in scouting for life: “Once a scout, always a scout”.
Scouts are encouraged to continue participating in scouting even into adulthood by becoming leaders and teaching America’s youth about values, while preparing them to become the leaders of tomorrow.

Mission: to prepare young people to make ethical and moral choices over their lifetimes by instilling in them the values of the Scout Oath and Law.

Purpose: to provide an educational program for young men and women to build character, train in the responsibilities of participating citizenship, and develop personal fitness.
Community groups receive national charters to use the Scouting program as a part of their own youth work. These groups, which have goals compatible with those of the BSA, include religious, educational, civic, fraternal, business and labor organizations, governmental bodies, corporate, professional associations and citizens’ groups.

Scouting levels are designated by the Epaulets Loops Colored shoulder loops identify the area of Scouting:
Blue: Cub Scouting (grades 1-5)
Red: Boy Scouting & Varsity Scouts (any boy who is 11 years old)
Blaze/orange: Varsity Scouting
Green: Venturing
Silver: Council & District
Gold: National & Regional

Cub Scouts (Boys 1st through 5th grade 5-10 yrs):
A family program for boys in first through fifth grade. Cub Scouting’s emphasis is quality programming at the local level. Fourth and fifth grade boys are called WeBeLos (We’ll be loyal Scouts) and participate in more advanced activities that prepares them to become Boy Scouts. Cubs participate in programs focused on their interests, Cub Scouts begin to form friendships and explore their talents in a supportive and natural environment.

Tiger Cubs: (first grade) boys and their adult mentors that stresses shared leadership for adult partners and in den meetings. This simply means that each Tiger Cub/adult team takes a turn in providing leadership for a den meeting. Tiger Cubs is about simplicity and fun! When a boy starts out in the Tiger program, they are not a Tiger yet, but they will begin working to earn their bobcat badge. Bobcat badge is the first step to becoming a Tiger. After they earn their bobcat badge, they will begin to work to earn their Tiger badge.

Wolf Cubs: (second grade) boys and their adult mentors that stresses leadership, teamwork, community service and family understanding in den meetings and enjoy Day Camp. When a boy starts out in the Wolf program, they are not a Wolf yet, but will begin working to earn their Wolf badge. To earn the Wolf badge, a boy must pass 12 achievements involving simple physical and mental skills.

• Bear Cubs: (3rd grade) When a boy starts out in the Bear program, they are not a Bear yet, but they will begin working to earn your Bear badge. There are 24 Bear achievements in four categories. The Cub Scout must complete 12 of these to earn the Bear badge. These requirements are somewhat more difficult and challenging than those for Wolf rank.

• Webelos: (4th & 5th grade) This program is for boys who have completed third grade (or are age 10). A boy may begin working on the Webelos badge as soon as he joins a Webelos den. This is the first step in his transition from the Webelos den to the Boy Scout troop. As he completes the requirements found in the Webelos Handbook, he will work on activity badges, attend meetings led by adults, and become familiar with the Boy Scout requirements—all leading to the Arrow of Light Award. WeBeLos will learn leadership skills needed to be leaders in Boy Scouting.

Boy Scouting: A program for boys (Ages 11-18) designed to achieve the aims of Scouting through a vigorous outdoor program and peer group leadership with the counsel of an adult Scoutmaster. Boys set goals, experience the challenge of achieving goals and the triumph of success. (Boys also may become Boy Scouts if they have earned the Arrow of Light Award or have completed fifth grade.)
• Through an exciting outdoor program, community service, skills development and leadership training, a Scout learns independence and the value of helping others while deepening his understanding of duty to God, country, and family.

Exploring (Young men and women ages 14-20): Focuses on career development through in depth, first-hand exploration of specific careers.

Venturing (Young men & women ages 14-20): Venturing is a co-educational program of the Boy Scouts of America. Venturers range from 14 to 20 years of age. The program is designed to help young men and women develop skills in areas of high adventure sports, arts, hobbies and Sea Scouting as well as learn positive leadership and ethical values from both adult and peer leaders. The result is a program of exciting and meaningful activities that helps youth pursue their special interests, grow, develop leadership skills and become good citizens.
• Planned in six areas: citizenship, leadership, service, social, outdoors and fitness, young adults gain experience to help connect them with the community and each other as well as building personal confidence.

Varsity Scouting: An active, exciting program for young men (Ages 14-17) built around five program fields of emphasis: advancement, high adventure, personal development, service and special programs and events.

Benefits of Scouting

• Scouts have higher Education levels
  – 15% higher high school graduation rates
• Scouts are better Leaders
  – 50% more likely as adults to have leadership responsibilities at work
• Scouts have stronger values
  – 44% more likely to agree “helping others should come before one’s own interests”
• Scouts are more Service oriented
  – 33% more interested in volunteer service
  – Community service was a primary tenet on which the BSA was founded and remains a primary focus today
• Lifelong Learning
  – Scouting teaches new skills to America’s youth in a fun and exciting way, and parents appreciate that their children are learning new skills and strong values in the process.
• Character Education
• 94% of Scouting parents feel their children learn morals and values in the BSA program
• 74% of Scouting youth feel the BSA program helps them tell the difference between right and wrong.
• Serving Others
  – Community service was a primary tenet on which the BSA was founded and remains a primary focus today
• Mentoring
   – Youth of every age can benefit from constructive, one-on-one interaction with adults and peers beyond the home
• Healthy Living
   – From an early age, Scouts are taught the importance of regular exercise to their growth and development